Release - Portland Pirates Announce 2012-13 Team Award Winners

04/14/2013 12:00 AM -
April 14, 2013
Portland Pirates Announce 2012-13 Team Award Winners
Portland, MaineThe Portland Pirates, AHL affiliate of the Phoenix Coyotes, presented their Team Awards, presented by Creative Awards, following this afternoon’s game between the Pirates and the Hershey Bears. The Pirates presented the Partner of the Year award, the Tom Ebright Award, and the Jack Button Memorial Award, which were all chosen by the team. In addition, the Pirates presented the Unsung Hero Award, The Most Popular Player Award, and the Most Valuable Player, presented by Maine Medical Center, which were voted on by the fans, as well as the Player’s Player award, which was chosen by the players.
Partner of the Year: On Target Utility Services
The Partner of the Year award is given to the sponsor that has shown exemplary commitment and dedication to the Pirates organization, going above and beyond their obligations to the team. On Target Utility Services joined the Pirates for the 2012-2013 season and had an immediate impact on the Pirates community. In addition to sponsoring the Pirates’ jerseys for the 2012-13 season, On Target Utility Services served as the Title Sponsor of the 2012-2013 Community Captains Program, allowing the Pirates to deliver over 5,000 tickets and game experiences to a host of local charitable and non-profit organizations throughout Maine. In addition, the Pirates players, coaches and team staff were also able to make personal visits and ticket donations to give adults and children alike one on one access to our team at the Barbara Bush Children’s Hospital, The Root Cellar, the Boys and Girls Club of Southern Maine, the United Way of Greater Portland, The Make a Wish Foundation and Camp Sunshine. 
Tom Ebright Award: Jordan Szwarz
The Tom Ebright award is given each year to the Pirates player who best exemplifies what it means to be a Portland Pirate, as envisioned by team founder Tom Ebright. The award is given to a player who plays for the love of the game. This year’s recipient, Jordan Szwarz, served as Pirates’ assistant captain this season, acting as a leader on and off the ice. A hardnosed player, Szwarz tallied 11 goals and 22 assists for the Pirates so far this season, while playing an integral part in the Pirates’ locker room. Szwarz joins Pirates Hall of Famers Byron Dafoe, Kevin Kaminski and Kent Hulst as recipients of the award.
Jack Button Memorial Award: Chris Brown
The Jack Button Award is named after the late Jack Button, Washington Capitals Director of Player Personnel, and is given to the organization’s top prospect, as selected by the Phoenix Coyotes. This year’s recipient, Chris Brown, leads the Pirates with 25 goals and has tallyed 15 assists as well. Brown was drafted in the second round (#36 overall) of the 2009 NHL Entry Draft, and joins Buffalo Sabres’ goaltender Jhonas Enroth, Coyotes forward Boyd Gordon, and Coyotes defenseman Michael Stone, who won the Button award last year.
Player’s Player: Brett Hextall
The Pirates’ Players Player Award is presented to the player who is selected by their teammates as a representative member of the team’s character and values. Brett Hextall is this year’s recipient of the Player’s Player award, which has previously been awarded to Pirates Hall of Famers Jeff Nelson (twice), Kent Hulst (twice), and last year’s captain, Dean Arsene. Hextall, a second year pro who played college hockey at North Dakota, is also the Pirates nominee for the IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year.
Unsung Hero: Chris Summers
The Pirates’ Unsung Hero is chosen from a combined fan vote and team decision, and is given to the player who surpassed expectations to become a key member of the team. This year’s recipient is defenseman Chris Summers. Summers, a native of Ann Arbor Michigan, has tallied 1 goal and 10 assists. Summer has served as an alternate captain for the Pirates throughout the season, stepping up after other Pirates leaders were recalled to Phoenix.  In addition to his leadership with the Pirates, Summers was named a 2013 AHL All Star, breaking the Fastest Skater record during the All-Star Skills competition.
Most Popular Player: Andy Miele
The Pirates’ Most Popular Player is determined by a fan vote and has been awarded to Pirates’ legends Jason Christie, Hall of Famer Kevin Kaminski, and Mark Major in the past. This year’s recipient is Andy Miele. Miele, a second year pro from Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, was the 2011-12 recipient of the team’s Most Valuable Player Award. Miele spent 4 years at Miami (OH) University, winning the Hobey Baker Award as the nation’s top hockey player. Miele scored 18 goals and 29 assists so far this season for the Pirates, while maintaining a strong presence in the community through various charitable causes, including the You Can Play Project, where he serves as a board member.
Most Valuable Player, presented by Maine Medical Center: Alexandre Bolduc
The Pirates’ Most Valuable Player, presented by Maine Medical Center, is determined by a fan vote and is given to the Pirates player who is seen as the Most Valuable to the team. This year’s recipient, Alexandre Bolduc, leads the Pirates with 51 points while serving as the team’s captain for the 2012-13 season. In his second season with the Pirates, Bolduc has not just provided offense, but steady leadership to a young team. Bolduc joins last year’s winner and teammate Andy Miele, as well as Pirates Hall of Famers Jeff Nelson, Jim Carey, and Martin Brochu as recipients of the MVP Award.
Tickets are still available for both remaining Pirates regular season games at the Cumberland County Civic Center. For tickets, call (207) 828-4665 ext. 350 or go online at ticketmaster.com.
Chris Knoblock
Director, Communications and Media Relations

(207) 828-4665 ext. 310 

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »